EPL Logo

Awards For Adult Literature

The Pulitzer Prize

Annual awards by Columbia University. Prizes in Letters are for books published in the US - fiction, biography, general non-fiction, history and poetry.

The Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world's most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and even publishers.

The National Book Awards

The National Book Awards are the nation's preeminent literary prizes. Today, the Awards are given to recognize achievements in four genres: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People's Literature. The Winners, selected by five-member, independent judging panels for each genre, receive a $10,000 cash award and a crystal sculpture.

Academy Book Awards

The Academy of American Poets provides the most important collection of awards for poetry in the United States.

The Edgar Awards

All books, short stories, television shows, and films in the mystery, crime, suspense, and intrigue fields are eligible for Edgar® Awards in their respective category if they were published or produced for the first time in the U.S. during this calendar year.

The Nobel Prize for Literature

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace. The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award.

Christian Small Publisher Book of the Year

Honors books produced by small publishers each year for outstanding contribution to Christian life.

The PEN/O. Henry Awards

Throughout the year, magazine editors submit their issues to The O. Henry Prize Stories series editor, Laura Furman. The stories must be published in Canada or the United States, and originally written in English.

This page was last modified on March 18 2011